Pre-season pump up!

Image

Greetings!

To the chagrin of many, the summer is reaching its natural end. Most Saskatchewanians become disheartened by the inevitable season change, but I come out of my hibernation. The beast in me awakes and becomes very hungry for competition and training.

This fencing season begins on September 4th, and I’ve been long awaiting the day I can suit up and strive for success. The past season (2012-2013) was the most successful season of my fencing career. This was my first year of fencing on the World level, and not only was I able to get my feet wet and my nose dirty, I was able to place in the top 64 (48th) in Vancouver and in Switzerland I finished 72nd. Nationally, I was top 8 in every competition, my worst result being 7th and my best finish was 3rd. Provincially, I medaled in every competition receiving a total of 2 Gold, 2 Silver, and 2 Bronze medals.

I am set on pushing myself and bettering my results for this 2013-2014 fencing season. This summer has been the most effective off-season training I’ve ever done, and I feel great. I got my workouts from Andrew Leslie at Craven Sports Services, and meal plans from Steph Langdon at Something Nutrishus. We have been working together for a year and the results are really  starting to show. I am extremely excited to work with these two for this next year as I make a push to qualify for World Championships.

Thank you all for your support, love, and comments. Every comment and message I receive helps motivate me to reach my goal. Thanks again for the support in the 2012-2013 season. Let’s work together to make 2013-2014 an unforgettable year.

/leland

This entry was posted in News and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pre-season pump up!

  1. Randy & Karen @ the lake :) says:

    Best of luck Leland!!!   Love the Guillemins @ the lake

    Sent from Samsung Mobile

  2. Seanna Guillemin says:

    You are and always will be an idol of mine Leland. You work so hard, you take dedication seriously and have fun with success. Love you big bro! Can’t wait to be in town for this year’s fencing season!!

  3. Way to go Leland – you’re an inspiration to all out fencers! – Gail from Sask Fencing Association!

  4. Reblogged this on Sask Sword and commented:
    Here’s another great blog post from our own Leland Guillemin who is chronicling his bid for the Olympics and the Worlds! Let’s get this season started!

Leave a Reply

