Motivation

Image

(Circuit drills – Offseason training)

 

What is motivation?

mo·ti·va·tion

/ˌmōtəˈvāSHən/
Noun
  1. The reason or reasons one has for acting or behaving in a particular way.
  2. The general desire or willingness of someone to do something.

Motivation is a powerful tool that is necessary to achieving your goals. Motivation can manifest itself in a wide array of factors and it is up to ourselves to define them. What motivates you?

For me, motivation is a very important part of my process. Getting to the gym at 5:00 AM every day is a difficult task at times, but it the most important part of my off-season training.

Currently, I am training 6 days a week, with 2 or 3 sessions on Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday. On a typical Monday, I arrive in the morning at the Gym for 5:00 AM, I do my hour and a half workout, head home to eat breakfast, make my lunch and head to work. I get home from work at around 4:45 and that is when I get ready for my first yoga class of the week. Yoga finishes at 6:45. I then pack up my yoga mat and head to the treadmill where I do my cardiovascular portion of the night. When I get home to eat my supper, it is usually about 8:00 PM. This gives me roughly 2 hours to clean up the mess I’ve made from my meals for the day and just enough time to check in with my fiance, Carson. If I didn’t have something motivating me I would not be able to continue this.

I have a number of things that motivate me. I have specific quotes that motivate me, for example, “Train Hard, Win Easy.” the title of a book on Kenyan Olympic running scene by Toby Tanser. I periodically listen to a speech by Eric Thomas titled, “How Bad Do You Want It?”. Thomas’ speech can be downloaded HERE. My family and my fiance help push me to achieve my dreams and their constant support is a big motivator. In my office at home, I have a giant poster on the wall that has been filled with motivational quotes by Carson and I. I see this poster a lot and it constantly reminds me of the support I have on this journey.

What works for me may not work for anyone else. I feel that everyone has to find their own form of motivation, but whether it is a quote, a poem, a picture, or a movie, it doesn’t matter — motivation is everywhere.

This entry was posted in News and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Motivation

  1. Reblogged this on GoHere Destinations and commented:
    It takes hard work to be a Champion – and Leland Guillemin’s willing to put in that work!

Leave a Reply

